Anchor my soul

DSC00671

This is a picture I snapped from the window of my office in Bintulu. Yes, I travelled to Bintulu this morning on a business trip. Now, blogging from Bintulu airport…

When I was a young girl, there was a time when dresses with sailor’s collar was in fashion. I had one dress of this collar. It’s white. I loved it very much and wore it on special occasion. I would always imagine myself being the captain of a huge ship cruising in the sea.

The fact is most of my related memories of the the sea (or actually just river) are peaceful. It was sitting by the jetty watching the barges going by. Even on occasions when the river flooded, I still could feel the peace. Yes, the rivers, whether the one near my house in my childhood days, or the one in Kanowit where my father ran his sundry business, or the river in Sarikei where my father managed the cinema business, have been there long before I was born. And I know these rivers would be there long after I am gone.

May be that’s the reasons all the rivers in my life seem so peaceful and reassuring. It reminds me so much of the awesome beauty and the faithfulness of the One who created them!

In between my work schedule here in Bintulu today, I looked out of the window, there was a small boat, bobbing at anchor. I felt that calm, soothing, thoughtful and quietness in the midst of the busyness of my day. I anchor my soul.

There are many times in my life when storm raged, when there were uncertainties. I went through endless infertility treatments before I had Rachel. Just as I wanted to give up the hope of ever having a child of my own, I remembered the story of Abraham and Sarah. In Hebrews 6, God promises Abraham a son. And since Abraham had nothing greater than himself to swear by, He took an oath in His own name,

So that through two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible that God would prove false, we who have taken refuge might be strongly encouraged to seize the hope set before us. We have this hope, a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul.” (Heb 6:18-19)

As Christians, we know that the right anchor for our storms is Jesus Christ. And we know that He is always there.

Today, I anchor my soul, just like some 18 years ago when I had this hope of a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul in Him!

Could we find the anchor in the candidates who are prepared to serve the people in the coming nation’s general election?

5 Responses to “Anchor my soul”

  1. James Wong Says:

    Yan – when are you coming to Miri? Call us! God bless!

  2. Yan Says:

    James,

    Akan Datang. Will definitely call on you and Rosalind!

  3. Ray Says:

    A picture of peace and security, indeed!

    Let’s pray for peace, stability and security in our homeland.

    Hey, lady, you are marvelous and a wonder!

  4. bp Says:

    Reading this post, I’ve got the old song “I’ve got peace like a river…” singing in my head!

    Thanks Yan, time and again for messages like this one, and your sharing of not just when things are smoothsailing, but difficult times too, and how God makes everything beautiful.

  5. Yan Says:

    bp,

    That’s what hope is like – an anchor that embeds in the rock of Christ. When we are anchored on God, we stand firm on His foundation!

    It’s this hope that empower us to see joy in all circumstances and light even in the midst of darkness.

    I am really really glad that in this cyber world, we could share such faith and hope!

    Is it not by His own grace too?


Comments are closed.

