Faith of our Fathers 先贤之信

Faith

I finished this book, Faith of our Fathers, during my trip to Singapore and Kuala Lumpur last week. In introducing this book, the publisher has written,

You will be intrigued and captivated by Thong’s compelling account of how God has had His hand on China, and His involvement in significant events of China’s history, thus revealing His desire to receive humanity unto Himself.

Indeed, I have been amazed, amazed by the indications of God’s hand on China by the author’s account.

I have also been captivated, captivated by the interpretations of the author’s comprehension of God’s footprints in China History.

I have also been fascinated by the author’s clarity in presenting this book. I would attribute that clarity in presenting the chapters partly due to the fact that the author is working with a journalist and editor, Charlene Fu. Who could have spoken clearer to a journalist than a journalist?

During my three visits to China, I had reservations in visiting all the historic places. I would probably think differently after reading this book in my next visit.

Indications of God’s hand on China include: (I lifted from the back of the book)

The Chinese language itself, which reflects knowledge of the first events of human history as recorded in the book of the Genesis.

The old name of the Chinese gave to their country, Shen Zhou 神州 (God’s country), which is revealing of their consciousness of God’s ultimate sovereignty.

The annual prayers and sacrifices at the Temple of Heaven (天坛〕, which have extraordinary parallels with the blood covenants in the Old Testament.

The Chinese emperors, who were called the “Sons of Heaven” (天子〕and were regarded as an intermediary between Shang Di (上帝〕and the Chinese people.

I have special liking of Chinese words. It’s natural that the second chapter of the book, Words Have Meaning, impressed me more than other chapters. At the end of each chapter there is a reflect and respond. In this chapter, the author gives this thought –

God is an active Communicator. His “fingerprints” are all over the world. He has not stopped speaking to us. Have you seen Him in Chinese characters? Have you seen Him around you today? If not, ask Him to open your eyes to His active participation in your life.

The author, Chan Kei THONG was born and educated in Singapore. He has lived in China for over 20 years.

I also own a Chinese version of this book! There are two reasons for getting the Chinese version of the book. After I finished reading the English version, I passed the book mGf in SingLand. I thought I should be able to get another a copy for keep at my next station, Kuala Lumpur. I did not find the book, instead I spotted the Chinese version. I got hold of the book. Today, I got the English version (photographed above) from Life Book Centre in Sibu!

10 Responses to “Faith of our Fathers 先贤之信”

  1. From Happiness to Greater Happiness « Yan’s Corner - In Touch Says:

    […] or good fortune will come or has already arrived. Until recently I read a book titled “Faith of our Fathers”, I began to like this beautiful word. . The author, Chan Kei Thong, said “fu” means […]

  2. Lam Chun See Says:

    I was heard a sermon (on cassette) by a Cantonese preacher by the name of John Wong. He mentioned 2 poems by the Ching emperor Kang Xi (Hong Hei). I have been very curious to know more. Finally I can read about it in this book.

    Indeed our God is great.

  3. berry Says:

    It caught my attention and I just bought it today. It just dawned on me that Shang Di was actually refering to ONE TRUE GOD!

  4. Hui Says:

    Dear Yan

    I was just wondering if you knew where I could buy this book online or in Singapore? I’m in the USA but I would like to buy a few copies for friends!

    Hui

  5. Yan Says:

    Dear Hui,

    I have just Kinokuniya Singapore and found that it’s available. It’s SD23.54 per copy. But it looks like mail order is not available. Please do drop me a line at phylliswyy (at) gmail (dot) com if you have difficulty.

    Yan

  6. Mike Says:

    Dear Yan or Hui,

    Hui, I assume that you’ve found the book by now, but if anyone in the USA is looking for it there are several online vendors that have it. Ambassadors for Christ, http://www.afcinc.org, are the cheapest I’ve found. The English version is more expensive than the Chinese version.

    Blessings,
    Mike

  7. TC Says:

    Hello Yan,

    Thank you for writing review on this book—Faith of our Fathers. Do you know where I can get it both in Chinese and English? By the way, do you know the author background?

    Yours truly,
    TC
    nov 2

  8. Jeff Says:

    Is there any place in China to get this book?
    Thank you.
    Jeff

  9. Liz Says:

    http://www.faithofourfathersbooks.com/index.html

    Books are available through this website online. Thanks. I appreciated what you had to say


Comments are closed.

