Footprints in SingLand (2) – The Walk

Have you ever lost someone you love and wanted one more conversation, one more chance to make up for the time when you thought they would be here forever?
– For One More Day, Mitch Albom

On Sunday after the Church service at St. Andrew’s Cathedral, I took a taxi to Paterson Tower. Paterson Tower is a private apartment located at Paterson Road. In the late 1989 and 1990, my mother and I stayed there. It was also the time when I was receiving treatment at Singapore General Hospital.

One night, I craved for a burger. I was then in my early stage of pregnancy. My mother and I walked down the Paterson Tower into Orchard Road where we had a Burger King, to my heart’s content. Returning to our apartment, I started bleeding and subsequently admitted to hospital for 99 days.

On this Sunday morn, I alighted at Paterson Tower. From Paterson Tower, I took a walk down to Orchard Road. Alone. My mother is now with the Lord. Entering into the busy Orchard Road, I felt lonely. I passed by Burger King. I did not stop. I did not crave for a burger.

I just wanted to have one more Paterson walk.

Later, I related the Paterson Walk to a good friend, he said,

> Your mum is always with you.
> Like Chirst she has never left you.
> She’s home with Him and watching over you.

Indeed, my mum is always with me. She is. Thank you for the reminder, mGf.

As I journeyed back to Sibu through Johor Bahru, I felt my mother walking along side with me. Whether it’s a Paterson Walk, a Rejang River Cruise, a SGH Ward … my mum is always there.

My mum lives in the heart of many. Read one of my posts here.

4 Responses to “Footprints in SingLand (2) – The Walk”

  1. JOEPSC Says:

    A sentimental journey
    So sweet yet bitter
    So painful yet blissful
    Made to re-live a memory –
    When emotions kept in a bosom
    Like a concoction in a cauldron
    Boiling over a nostalgic fire
    Is surely spilt over
    As the lid is liften open
    By a heart’s crying desire

  2. Yan Says:

    Thanks, Joe, for the touching poem.

  3. Missing from the reunion dinner table « Yan’s Corner - In Touch Says:

    […] mother would never miss her special “yam cake” for Chinese New Year. When she passed away on 18th June […]

  4. A Love that Mends and Heals « Yan’s Corner - In Touch Says:

    […] this for my mothers’ day post. The poem talks much of my mother. From the warmth of home to the walk into time and eternity and to love that mends and heals – it’s mother, mother, still mother, […]


Comments are closed.

