My Wonderful Lord

I spent many years – from teenager to 30 – in the Church Choir. I love singing though I do not sing well. Besides being touched over and over by the beautiful arrangement of the songs and the harmony, it was the times together with choir members and conductor that I looked forward to week after week. From the old wooden church just next to the Malay Cemetery to the present one just across the road of my house, it was such beautiful times.

Yesterday evening, I went to the New Year Service at 5 pm. Yes, the church choir sings at 5 pm service. I was singing at 5 pm service for many years. After I stopped joining the Choir, I join the 7:30 am service. But, many a time, I miss the choir presentation. Yesterday evening, the choir, in quartet (all male voices) sang this beautiful hymn that we sang before in the choir many years back –

I have found a deep peace that I never had known
And a joy this world could not afford
Since I yielded control of my body and soul
To my wonderful, wonderful Lord.

Chorus

My wonderful Lord, my wonderful Lord
By angels and seraphs in Heaven adored
I know Thou art mine,
My Savior divine
My wonderful, wonderful Lord

I desire that my life shall be ordered by Thee
That my will be in perfect accord
With Thine own sov’reign will
Thy desires to fulfill
My wonderful, wonderful Lord

Chorus

All the talents I have I have laid at Thy Feet
Thy approval shall be my reward
Be my store great or small
I surrender it all
To my wonderful, wonderful Lord

Chorus

Thou art fairer to me than the fairest of earth
Thou omnipotent, life-giving Word
O Thou Ancient of Days,
Thou art worthy all praise
My wonderful, wonderful Lord.

Chorus

I did a google search last night and downloaded the lyrics and I even have the writer of this hymn. Here you are

Haldor Lillenas

American hymn writer, was born in Bergen, Norway. Emigrating to the U.S. as a child, Lillenas grew up in the Lutheran Church. At the age of two years he immigrated with his mother and two brothers to America, settling in Colton, South Dakota. Shortly after his conversion at the age of twenty-one he began expressing the joy of his heart in song.

At age 21 he felt called to preach and to write Christian music. He and his wife traveled across the country as evangelists and later served at several Nazarene churches in California, Texas, Indiana and Illinois. In 1924 he founded the Lillenas Music Co. in Indianapolis, Indiana, which merged with the Nazarene Publishing Co. in 1930. Lillenas remained with his company as music editor for twenty years. He wrote approximately 4,000 Gospel texts and hymn tunes, “My Wonderful Lord.” He died 18 August 1959 at Aspen, Colorado.

24 Responses to “My Wonderful Lord”

  1. Liew Hui Mei Says:

    Hi Yan, I have been visiting your blog from time to time. ^.^

    Indeed, I’ve been hearing praises from Desi about you.

    Haha, I even have said “Hi” with your son through your blog long ago.

    May you and your family be blessed with Good Health.

    Best wishes,
    Hui Mei

  2. freelunch2020 Says:

    hey happy new year
    desi introduced me to your blog
    nice and inspiring articles for the new year 😀

  3. doc Says:

    it’s truly a wonderful God who accepts us as we are, & even if you can’t sing well, i’m certain your praise is sweet music to His ears.

    many of us forget the parable of the talents – i’m guilty myself – but i hope to hear you sing some day!!

  4. Yan Says:

    Hui Mei,

    Yes, I remember you! We met at Cititel Cafe!

    Stay connected.

    Yan

  5. Yan Says:

    freelunch2020,

    Thanks for dropping by! Yes, I do visit your ‘political’ blog now and then, also through desi!

    Drop by often – mine is non-politics – if you think you need some desserts!

    Yan

  6. Yan Says:

    doc,

    Yes, I still sing, sing praises to God!

    Which church do you go to in the ‘west’? I do travel to KL now and then, may have a chance to be a visitor of your church one day?

    Yan

  7. doc Says:

    can i reply to your email?

  8. yan Says:

    doc,

    You certainly can.

    Yan

  9. ylchong Says:

    like one semi-valuedguy,desi is going to act Scrooge collecting tolls for every visitor here who says it’s by Desi’s commend. Or isit command?

    yes, political writers like 2020freelunch have to get some spiritual desserts, or even entree,and I’m like fleerunch0202 cometh here,sometimes indastealofthe night-ie!:)

  10. John Sinclair Says:

    Do you know who owns the copyright on this hymn? If so, would you mind informing me so that I can ask permission to use it? Thanks very much!

  11. Yan Says:

    Hi, John,

    Thanks for dropping by!

    Wonder if this helps – http://www.lillenas.com

    Lillenas Publishing House

    Yan

  12. Betty Burgin Says:

    Thank you for the lyrics to My Wonderful Lord. I was in my devotions this morning, giving God prasie for two answeres to prayer over the weekend. When words are never enough it seems a song will come into my heart and I always look it up. I can’t sing very well but God doesn’t care how it sounds as long as I give him praise.
    Thank you.

  13. Yan Says:

    Betty,

    Yes, God does not care how we sound. Amen.

  14. Jeff Says:

    This is a great song, thanks for the info, God Bless

  15. Dan Says:

    May Jesus Christ be praised. This is a beautiful hymn.

  16. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  17. Pastor Dan Warren Says:

    Thank you. I have played this hymn on my trombone and tried to remember the lyrics too but I couldn’t remember them all! I’m so pleased you had them and I am to sing and play tonight at a Maundy Thursday service in Battle Creek, Michigan. God Bless

  18. Prince Says:

    Hi Yan:
    I thank God that He inspired you to post the lyrics to this song “My Wonderful Lord” on your blog. I heard the chours being sang on youtube and I was so touched by it so I decided to look it up on the internet to get the full lyrics. Yours offered me what I wanted. It would have been nice if you had sang the song and posted it to your blog or youtube so I can know how the whole song is sang. I heard only the chorus on youtube and it will nice to hear it all complete with the stanzas. May God bless your richly.

    Your friend in the Lord
    Prince,
    Canada

  19. Curt Bensen Says:

    Thank you so much. A co-worker was talking about how she had peace and joy in her life. I remembered this old hymn from my childhood and wanted to share it with her. I was happy to read the author was a fellow Norwegian.
    Thank you again, Curt

  20. Mary Ann Says:

    Thanks so much for providing these lyrics – my “morning song” yesterday

  21. DIANNE Says:

    I FOUND MYSELF SINGING THIS SONG THIS MORNING AS I WAS IN PRAYER AND WORSHIP. ONE OF MY FORMER PASTORS WOULD STRUM HIS GUITAR AND SING THIS SONG AS A SPECIAL WHEN I WAS JUST A TEENAGER. I REMEMBER THE TEARS STREAMING DOWN THE FACE OF ELWOOD McCLEARY, AS HE LOVED ON HIS LORD. I NEVER FORGOT. I THANK WHOEVER PUT THESE WORDS HERE AS I COULDN’T REMEMBER ALL OF THEM. I HAVE SPECIAL MUSIC ON THE 1st. OF MAY AND I’M PRAYING FOR GUIDANCE. THIS MAY BE THE SONG AND IF IT ISN’T FOR THIS TIME, MAYBE IT WILL BE LATER. GOD BLESS ALL.

  22. Ellen Erica Fransen-Milo Says:

    We have this song sung by a wonderful male voice and we do not know who it is, it must be an old recoring, round end 40’s begin fifties!

  23. Devon Walters Says:

    One of my favorite hymns.

  24. Warren Gibbs Says:

    This is more than a nice little song! Why is it only the tune catches on? It is the heart cry of our Lord as is proven by his prayer for us in the 17th chapter of St. John. Though the Christian world pretends they admire such devotion it is in reality even doctrinally disdained among almost all christian denominations.


Comments are closed.

